Liverpool beat Chelsea on penalties to win Carabao Cup

Liverpool beat Chelsea 11-10 on penalties to win the Carabao Cup after a breathless final ended in a goalless draw at Wembley.

After both Liverpool and Chelsea made a pro-Ukraine gesture before kick-off, Christian Pulisic had the first chance of the final but was denied by Kelleher, to set the tone of a breathless final.

The Blues were on top in a frantic opening to the game but Liverpool soon gained control. Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy kept his side in it as he produced a stunning double save to prevent Sadio Mane from point-blank range.

Mason Mount then had a huge chance moments before half-time but skewed his volley wide after being found by Kai Havertz in the box, as the sides went into the break level.

Mount had a further chance after the break as he was picked out by Pulisic, but could only dig a finish onto the post from under his feet, as Thomas Tuchel pounded the turf in frustration.

Liverpool thought they had taken the lead on 66 minutes when Joel Matip headed in from close range, only for it to be disallowed by VAR as Virgil van Dijk, who blocked Thiago Silva, was ruled offside.

Chelsea then had a goal disallowed after Timo Werner was offside before Havertz finished past Kelleher. Both goalkeepers made further saves to send the final into extra-time, as Mendy dived to keep out Van Dijk’s header and Kelleher stopped Romelu Lukaku’s flick with his feet.

Lukaku then had a goal disallowed by VAR after the striker went too early before firing past Kelleher. Chelsea had another goal disallowed, as Havertz saw his finish ruled out, as the match went to penalties.

Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga, brought on in place of Edouard Mendy in extra time for the shoot-out, fired the decisive spot kick over the crossbar.

More to follow;

Leave a Reply

Back to top button