Apple Pay, Google Pay, and other digital wallets payments suspended in Russia with local banks hit by sanctions

Following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the US and the EU imposed economic sanctions on the country, including a ban on foreign transactions with Russian banks.

As a result, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and other digital wallets have been suspended in Russia.

Five major Russian banks have had their international operations restricted due to sanctions imposed by other countries, the Central Bank of Russia announced on Friday (via Business Insider). Customers of these banks will no longer be able to use their cards abroad or even make online payments to companies registered in countries that have issued sanctions.

VTB Group, Sovcombank, Novikombank, Promsvyazbank, and Otkritie are among the banks affected, according to the statement. The Central Bank of Russia also points out that cards issued by these five banks are no longer compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, both of which are based in the United States.

Customers in Russia will still be able to make contactless payments with their physical cards, but Apple and Google digital wallets are currently suspended in the country indefinitely.

The sanctions were announced after Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered the invasion of Ukraine on Thursday, which started a war in the region. In addition to the United States and the European Union, the United Kingdom, Japan, and Australia have also imposed economic sanctions on Russia.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button