General News

3 MPs refuse to refund overpaid salaries – Mensah Thompson alleges

Three first-term Members of Parliament have been accused of failing to refund overpaid salaries to state coffers months after being alerted by the Controller and Accountant General, according to a Citinewsroom report.

The politicians’ names have been disclosed as Sylvester Tetteh of Bortianor Ngleshie Amanfro, who has allegedly received 131,000, Stephen Jalulah, MP for Pru West, who has allegedly pocketed 119,000, and Alexander Gyan, MP for Kintampo South, who has allegedly pocketed 119,000.

In addition to their present wages as MPs, they earned compensation as past CEOs and DCEs. Since the notification, the fourth accused, Alhassan Iddi, MP for Salaga North, has repaid the overpaid amount of GH42,000.

The matter is presently being pursued by the Alliance for Social Equity and Public Accountability is currently pursuing the matter.

“As we speak there are some Members of Parliament who were former DCEs whose accounts still kept recording payment of salaries as DCEs and also as MPs and you could see from the document that the Auditor General has asked them to refund them.

It is very difficult to blame the MPs involved. This is a payroll management problem. There is a huge discrepancy in our payroll system and there must be a pragmatic step to address this anomaly,” Mensah Thompson, Executive Director for ASEPA said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button